An Unofficial Homepage for 'The Lord of the Rings' by J.R.R. Tolkien

Welcome to “An Unofficial Homepage for ‘The Lord of the Rings’ by J.R.R. Tolkien”


Since 1998, the simple goal for this site, is to encourage readers of all ages to take a journey to Middle-earth.

To best achieve this goal, I feel the best use for this site, is to carefully research the currently available editions of Tolkien’s works, as well as guides, essays, and other related educational material, sort them all out into the sections listed on the right, hopefully making it as easy as possible to find these books, so that people can experience the peerless masterworks of J.R.R. Tolkien.

“If you want to know the story, you can read the book.”

~ Sir Ian McKellen, “The Actors Studio”

If you have yet to read one of Tolkien’s books, then I invite you to order a copy of Ballantine’s popular Boxed ‘Paperback’ Collection of “The Hobbit” and “The Lord of the Rings.” You will join millions of people, from all over the world, who have been changed forever by taking their first journey to Middle-earth.

Those who have already made the journey to Middle-earth, and hunger for more, you will enjoy reading “The Silmarillion,” Tolkien’s epic history of the First Age of Middle-earth, and “The Children of Húrin,” the first complete book by Tolkien since the 1977 posthumous release of “The Silmarillion.”

You can also order ‘ebook’ editions of “The Hobbit,” “The Lord of the Rings,” “The Silmarillion,” “The Children of Húrin,” “The Legend of Sigurd and Gudrún,” “The Fall of Arthur,” “Beowulf: A Translation and Commentary,” as well as many of J.R.R. Tolkien’s other works.

These digital editions can be read on personal computers, smartphones, or tablets, but I really feel they are best read on dedicated devices like series of Amazon’s Kindle ebook readers.

“The Hobbit”

First published on September 21, 1937, by George Allen & Unwin.

“The Lord of the Rings”

First published on July 29, 1954 (“The Fellowship of the Ring”), November 11, 1954 (“The Two Towers”), October 20, 1955 (“The Return of the King”), by George Allen & Unwin.

“The Silmarillion”

First published on November 19, 1977, by George Allen & Unwin.

“Unfinished Tales of Númenor and Middle-earth”

First published on October 2, 1980, by George Allen & Unwin.

“The Fall of Arthur”

First published on May 23, 2013, by HarperCollins.

“The Children of Húrin”

First published on April 17, 2007, by Houghton Mifflin.

“Beowulf: A Translation and Commentary”

First published on May 22, 2014, by HarperCollins.

“The Legend of Sigurd and Gudrún”

First published on April 1, 2009, by HarperCollins.